Skip to main content

Ability to default imported testimonials to Unapproved

One of the value props of Senja is that it widens the scope of what can be used as a testimonial. I’ve recently been leaning into this, and collecting testimonial-type copy from email and other non-public channels. I want to capture them right when I see them so I don’t forget, but really want to ask permission before sharing them publicly. So it was an unpleasant surprise to learn that those testimonials are automatically marked as Approved, without notifying me before or after import.

On reflection, I’m thinking of the Approved flag feature as a way of me saying “this one is fully ready to go!” and maybe Senja is thinking of it as a “this one isn’t unwanted spam.” So then it would make sense that if they submit it, I have to approve, but if I submit it, it’s automatically approved. So I kinda get why it’s set up this way, but I don’t share that mental model.

Anyway, my request is for something so I’m not accidentally publishing imported testimonials without realizing it. Could be a global setting, a box to uncheck on the Import screen, an “are you sure you want to publish this now?” modal, or something else entirely.

Thank you!

Status: Discussing2 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments2

  • Igor Butnaru

    •

    Mar 26

    Hi guys 🙌

    Good news, this is actually already possible! When importing testimonials you can set them to import as Unapproved by default, so they won't go live until you review and approve them manually.

    Could you check your Import settings and let us know if that covers what you need?

    Igor – Senja Support

  • Joanna

    •

    Mar 26

    •

    Merged request

    •

    1 vote

    Option for imported testimonials to be initially unapproved

    As is the case for testimonials submitted by a form, it would be great if we could choose to automatically make all testimonials submitted by the import methods ‘unapproved’ initially.

    In our company, any I add are reviewed by my colleague before being published. At present I have to add them, then change them back to unapproved and when I’m working on them still they will appear live.

    I say have the choice over this as recognise some people will want them automatically approved, so I think the status they are imported as should be set by the user/admin.

    Thanks!